Backing up your images

Backing your images and making it totally secure has given sleepless nights to many photographers. Digital progression in photography has changed the way the whole subject is looked at. At the same time, it has also introduced many challenges. Now clicking thousands of images and storing them away in different hard drives, is less expensive and does not consume space. However, we are presented with a question, how do we make it secure from hard drive failures, natural disaster, or theft? There are thousands of articles written on this subject. Neither I want to repeat the sound advice given on various websites, nor I want to question the credibility of any other system. I would just like to share how I have been storing the images and what are the further improvements I would like to make.

When I started shooting the photographs, like most of the people I used to store them in CDs and make few copies for the back up. Technology improved, and I upgraded the systems to the portable hard-drives. At that point, I did not have so much volume (rather I should say) I did not anticipate that I would be handling thousands of images after few years. Now I have thousands of images, and many of them are irreplaceable. At any cost, I would not like to lose them. Hence, I invested in Drobo back up system. I am not confident that Drobo is completely safe. However, I found Drobo affordable and user friendly. It was easy enough and did not have complex installation like RAID system. It was easy to replace new disk. Watch this video to understand Drobo.

I like the way Drobo keeps the data redundantly safe and protects it from any sort of hard drive failure. Still the data is not completely safe as there can be natural calamities of accidents or theft that might affect the data on Drobo.

At the moment, I am not dealing with the images at a professional level. Hence, my back up system is not as robust as should be. However, my aim is to develop a system that is scalable at any point of time without too much disruption. I recently watched a video by Chase Jarvis and his team (Accessed first on 23/11/2011).

This video describes the system he follows to secure his work. I was happy to see that my back up workflow is quite similar to theirs but on a much smaller scale. However, there are some areas of improvement that I have to consider. Please see the chart below to understand my backup workflow system.

Backup workflow-1

There is another article that I came across which has some very nice points to consider for your backup workflow. http://www.pixiq.com/article/backing-up-your-photos (Accessed on 23/02/2012).

Leave a Reply

