Importance of photo stories

Past few weeks have been way too hectic and demanding. Unfortunately, my study schedule has taken the maximum impact of this. I am churning out lesser articles on my blog than earlier. This does not mean it has affected my dedication towards the course. I have looked at some inspiring work and have also listened to a couple of photography related webinars. I also managed to attend a seminar, and as a result of that I have constantly been touch with my passion of photography. During the brainstorming, one question keeps coming back to me. How important is it to have a photo story in travel photography? Shouldn’t the story told in one photo be enough for it to be successful? This reminds me of a quote by Steve McCurry, “ What is important to my work is the individual picture. I photograph stories on assignment, and of course they have to be put together coherently. But what matters most is that each picture stands on its own, with its own place and feeling”. I strongly support the above statement. I also feel it is extremely difficult to tell a story with just one picture. However, once you get hold of the technique, and the skill it becomes increasingly easy. As you learn to put more and more research, planning and hard work for that one shot.

On the other hand, I feel it is an art in itself to create stories out of series of photographs. For this one needs to be planned and well research before the shoot. After that come the selection, which is the most crucial part of the whole process. In the seminar, Marc Prüst mentioned a strange but important tip, “In a photo story, if you have 9 average photographs and 1 outstanding image. Remove that 1 outstanding image, because this one image will make your other 9 images look substandard”.

At the moment, I am working on my last assignment. I feel all these webinars and seminars have helped me in conceptualizing and bringing the different images to gather into one coherent collection. I am sure this whole process will also ease my story telling dilemma in travel photography.

Leave a Reply

